Grabbing the Spotlight: Takeaway from #Latism11

Whenever crime stories are on the news I often cringe and cross my fingers in hopes that it’s not a Latino perpetrator. It makes me think of the village idiot who gives everyone in town a bad name, and in our case, eclipsing all the positive things that ARE going on, which of course hardly ever gets coverage. But, I digress.

Like many of you, I’ve always wanted mass-media to paint Latinos with a different brush. I mean, we’re not only the leaf-blower or the maid who watches novelas, and we’re definitely not all in gangs or the drug-dealers you see on TV. So, who are we?

Having just returned from the #Latism conference in Chicago, I am renewed with excitement about who we are and who we are becoming, and damn it! enough with the stereotypes. We are intellectuals who blog, MBAs, doctors, professors, reporters, scientists, CPAs, judges, lawyers, astronauts — even Supreme Justices. Many of us are well traveled, bilingual, and at times, multi-lingual. In the USA, we ARE the source of future innovation, intellectual wealth, today’s workforce and tomorrow’s Fortune-500 leaders. Most importantly, we are poised to take our place.

So how do I plan to influence change in how the world sees us? Starting today, I am embracing a new philosophy; I will focus on creating greatness with those around me – Latino, Black, White, Asian or otherwise. Change requires…well…change.

I, like many others, have focused on solving problems in my community for too long in lieu of supporting more successes. It’s like trying to appease one troubled customer who costs you money at the expense of the many who are satisfied and pay happily. All I’m saying is that if we want others to see us in a different light, we must take hold of the light and shine it on ourselves.

Who’s with me?
Cheers

3 thoughts on “Grabbing the Spotlight: Takeaway from #Latism11

  1. Beautifully written, hermano. Very well expressed. I share in the renewal and sense of unity you took from Chicago as I very much feel it too. You definitely ‘get it.’ Thank you for sharing this!

  2. Edgar..my recap of Latism was with the analogy of a paint brush..we all , as a part of the community do our part to make the world a better place. It starts off with just doing. I’m with you! Abrazos. Blanca

Leave a Reply

